The Rustic Room

Tire Planter

tire6

I think this turned out really cute and it serves it’s purpose so here’s the how to if you need one in your life.  (Because who doesn’t have a bunch of tires laying around?)  I first took a can of red spray paint and painted the front and sides of the tire.  Then added our house number and last name.

tire2

On the tread side of the tire I drilled holes through just where the bottom would hang.  I don’t think it matters the size of the bit or how many holes.  I just wanted it to drain so my plants didn’t flood.  Also their is a layer of metal in the tire so to drill it out you have to get after it and wiggle it around.

  tire4

Then my lovely hubby volunteered to dig a hole with a post hole digger.  He made it really deep because we didn’t want to mix up concrete.  The 4×4 that we stuck in there was about 5 ft tall and probably 3 ft sticks out.

tire3

We put the tire hanging over the 4×4.  Then we drilled a hole through the back of the tire on top so we could add a washer and lag bolt to hold it in place.

tire5

We did the same thing on the inside of the tire in the front. Then I added dirt and stole a couple plants from my other planters and stuck them in there.  They are a little sad since we weren’t here to water for a week.  I am hoping they will snap out of it!

tire1

Now we have a house number which I was fretting about since January when we moved it!  I still want one on the house but waiting for creativity to strike!  Let us know what you think and thanks for stopping by!

Julie

This entry was published on July 16, 2014 at 6:47 pm and is filed under Projects, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

