The Rustic Room

Headboard

I have been mulling over the idea of a headboard for a while now.  I had made one previously that was just okay and a temporary fix, but I wanted something awesome!  I then looked into pallet headboards but thought they looked to informal for the detailed stencil on my wall.  I didn’t like the boxy look.

headboarddone

 I needed a cross between my old style and this new rustic look I am going for.  I ended up doing something similar to one that I found online and I love it!  It could not have been more simple and I will walk you though it!

headboard2

First I found a fence panel that someone was throwing out and measured it across.  Could you believe my luck?  It was exactly 84 inches.  Perfect for a king size bed.

headboard1

Then I took a large piece of paper and traced out a design for one side.  I then flipped it over and traced the mirror image on the other side.

headboard

I then cut out my pattern with a jigsaw.

  headboard3

Then came sanding, which I love.  As you can see I recruited some help!  I sanded a lot!  I wanted to get all of the mold and gunk off of it.  Then when we were done sanding I stained the front with Rust-Oleum weather grey wood stain.

headboard6

After it was stained, I sealed it a couple of times with poly.  I made sure to cover every single crack even on the insides.

headboard7

Finally, I used modern master glaze and went over it with a coffee bean color to bring out the wood grain.

headboarddone

Instead of attaching it to the bed frame I just attached it with long screws to the studs in the walls.  It is a little larger than our bed because I made it to fit a king and we ended up taking back the king we just bought (Ugh).  I think the formal cut across the top off sets the rugged looking wood and blends beautifully in my space!  I love it!  Thanks for stopping by and let us know what you think!

Julie

This entry was published on August 5, 2014 at 4:13 pm and is filed under Home, Projects, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

