The Rustic Room

Kitchen remodel

Rustic Ridge Road Kitchen Makeover

This house had so much potential, that Chris and I were so excited to snag it up.  It was definitely stuck in the 80’s with fantastic roman shades and curtains everywhere!  The walls were all covered in faux wood paneling and the kitchen had a great peachy hue to the cabinets.

DSC_0230

Since we were limited on storage space I had to keep most of the cabinets.  There was no pantry in this house and everything was really crammed.  Usually, I rip out a bunch of stuff and make it more open but I didn’t really have that option here.  So we took out the cabinet above the window and dishwasher to make it a little more open.  Then we added a can a drop light above the sink to add a little modern style.  I also got rid of the wonderful curtains.

DSC_0229

Then all of the cabinets got a fresh coat of white paint.  If you are planning on painting your cabinets it is necessary to take off all the hardware.  Lucky for me it was all ugly so I was going to replace it anyway!  The peach back splash came out,  and so did the vinyl floors and Formica counter tops.

DSC_0239

Here you can see we put glass in where the curtains all were.  I have been obsessed with barn wood as you can see here I was already adding it to my space!  We did these super easy faux ceiling tiles for the back splash since I was a little tiled out from the bathroom. (Chris refuses to touch tile so yours truly gets to do it).  We updated all appliances with stainless.

kitchen1

I really hate microwaves and in a perfect world I would of tried to hide this one too but it wasn’t in the budget.

   DSC_0915

The floors were done in Acacia which was only around $5 a foot at the time (Lumber liquidators).  Now it’s like $13 because of the tree shortage FYI!!  So sadly my current home has something else.  The counter tops were done in granite and all of the hardware is oil-rubbed bronze now.

DSC_0919

Here they are side by side.  It seems that my style changes from house to house but at least you can get an idea of some of the things you can do to update your space!!

DSC_0230DSC_0914

Thanks for stopping by! Let me know if you have any questions!

Julie

This entry was published on June 16, 2015 at 8:29 pm and is filed under House before and afters. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

